Margaret Randall

Margaret Randall lived for many years in Spain, Mexico, Cuba and Nicaragua. She is a poet and author of more than 40 books including several on Cuban and Nicaraguan women: Cuban Women Now (1974), Women in Cuba (1981), Sandino’s Daughters (1981), Sandino’s Daughters Revisited (1994) and Our Stories, Our Lives: Stories of Women from Central American and the Caribbean (2002). When she returned to the United States in 1984, she was ordered deported under the McCarran-Walter Act as a non-citizen. With broad support, she won her appeal case in 1989, which restored her citizenship.

Nicaragua, as Elections Approach
Against the Current, No. 215, November/December 2021

A Personal Account: Awaiting Deportation
Against the Current, No. 9, May/June 1987

Comment from Margaret Randall
Against the Current, No. 9, May/June 1987

Remaining Options
Against the Current, No. 8, March/April 1987